Faculty

CREECA faculty and academic staff at the University of Wisconsin-Madison:

  • Have a primary research and/or teaching interest in Russia, Eastern and Central Europe, and/or Central Eurasia
  • Serve as MA thesis advisors for one or more REECAS MA degree students
  • Teach a course that fulfills one or more requirements for REECAS certificate and/or major programs
  • Participate in regular service requirements for CREECA (Administrative Council, FLAS selection committee, MA selection committee)
  • Participate in CREECA outreach/public service activities
  • CREECA faculty are eligible to stand for election to the CREECA Administrative council

Faculty & Academic Staff

Krzysztof Borowski

Position title: Lecturer of Slavic

Email: borowski3@wisc.edu

Rachel Brenner

Position title: Professor of Hebrew Language and Literature and Jewish Studies

Email: brenner@wisc.edu

Paul Castañeda Dower

Position title: Assistant Professor of Agricultural and Applied Economics

Email: pdower@wisc.edu

Kathryn Ciancia

Position title: Associate Professor of History

Email: ciancia@wisc.edu

Thomas A. Dale

Position title: Professor of Medieval Art and Architecture

Email: tedale@wisc.edu

David Danaher

Position title: Professor of Slavic Languages and Literature

Email: dsdanaher@wisc.edu

Tom DuBois

Position title: Professor of Scandinavian Studies

Email: tadubois@wisc.edu

Nâlân Erbil

Position title: Faculty Associate, Turkish Language and Culture

Email: erbil@wisc.edu

Karen Evans-Romaine

Position title: Professor of Slavic Languages and Literature

Email: evansromaine@wisc.edu

Gulnara Glowacki

Position title: Senior Lecturer, Kazakh Language and Culture

Email: gglowacki@wisc.edu

Victor Gorodinsky

Position title: Sr. Academic Librarian & Director of Russian Folk Orchestra

Email: victor.gorodinsky@wisc.edu

Maksim Hanukai

Position title: Assistant Professor of Slavic Languages and Literature

Email: hanukai@wisc.edu

Kathryn Hendley

Position title: Professor of Law and Political Science

Email: khendley@wisc.edu

Yoshiko Herrera

Position title: Professor of Political Science

Email: yherrera@wisc.edu

Francine Hirsch

Position title: Professor of History

Email: fhirsch@wisc.edu

Robert Kaiser

Position title: Professor of Geography

Email: rjkaise1@wisc.edu

S. A. Karpukhin

Position title: Lecturer, German, Nordic, Slavic+

Email: karpukhin@wisc.edu

Judd Kinzley

Position title: Associate Professor of History

Email: kinzley@wisc.edu

Andrew Kydd

Position title: Professor of Political Science

Email: kydd@wisc.edu

Christopher Livanos

Position title: Associate Professor of Comparative Literature and Folklore

Email: clivanos@wisc.edu

David McDonald

Position title: Professor of History

Email: dmmcdon1@wisc.edu

Tony Michels

Position title: Professor of History

Email: aemichels@wisc.edu

Ewa Miernowska

Position title: Senior Lecturer in Slavic Languages and Literature

Email: miernows@wisc.edu

Leonora Neville

Position title: Professor of History

Email: lneville@wisc.edu

Kirill Ospovat

Position title: Assistant Professor of Slavic Languages and Literature

Email: ospovat@wisc.edu

Volker Radeloff

Position title: Professor of Forest & Wildlife Ecology

Email: radeloff@wisc.edu

Sunil Rao

Position title: Senior Academic Librarian, Law Library

Email: strao@wisc.edu

Andrew Reynolds

Position title: Associate Professor of Slavic Languages and Literature

Email: awreynolds@wisc.edu

Irina Shevelenko

Position title: Professor of Slavic Languages and Literature

Email: idshevelenko@wisc.edu

Andy Spencer

Position title: Academic Librarian, General Library, Slavic Studies

Email: andy.spencer@wisc.edu

Jennifer Tishler

Position title: Associate Director of CREECA

Email: jtishler@creeca.wisc.edu

Phone: 608-262-3379

Anna Tumarkin

Position title: Faculty Associate of Slavic Languages and Literature

Email: atumarki@wisc.edu

Manon van de Water

Position title: Professor of Slavic Languages and Literature

Email: mvandewa@wisc.edu

Alexandra Walter

Position title: Lecturer in German, Nordic, Slavic+

Email: alexandra.walter@wisc.edu

Łukasz Wodzyński

Position title: Assistant Professor of Slavic Languages and Literature

Email: lukasz.wodzynski@wisc.edu

Sunny Yudkoff

Position title: Assistant Professor of Jewish Studies

Email: yudkoff@wisc.edu

Marina Zilbergerts

Position title: Assistant Professor of German, Nordic, Slavic+

Email: zilbergerts@wisc.edu

All CREECA faculty and academic staff and CREECA associates are eligible to apply for CREECA conference travel awards.

A UW-Madison faculty or staff member who wishes to join the center as a CREECA faculty and academic staff member or CREECA associate should submit a letter stating the nature of her/his interest and a current curriculum vitae to the CREECA associate director, Jennifer Tishler. Requests will be considered by the CREECA Administrative Council.

CREECA Faculty Emeriti

Name Department Email
Raymond Anderson Journalism rhanders@wisc.edu
Sarah Atis Languages and Cultures of Asia sgatis@wisc.edu
David Bethea Slavic Languages and Literature dmbethea@wisc.edu
Marianne Bloch Curriculum & Instruction, Women’s Studies bloch@education.wisc.edu
Dean Bowles Education Leadership and Policy Analysis bowles@education.wisc.edu
Barbara Buenger Art History bbuenger@wisc.edu
Michael Chamberlain Department of History mchamber@wisc.edu
Melvin Croan Political Science croan@polisci.wisc.edu
Alexander Dolinin German, Nordic, and Slavic+ dolinin@wisc.edu
John Doyle Department of Surgery doyle@surgery.wisc.edu
Joseph Elder Sociology elder@ssc.wisc.edu
Halina Filipowicz Slavic Languages and Literature hfilipow@wisc.edu
Vance I. Kepley Communication Arts vikepley@wisc.edu
Anatoly Khazanov Anthropology khazanov@wisc.edu
Judith Kornblatt Slavic Languages and Literature jkornbla@wisc.edu
Galina Lapina German, Nordic, and Slavic+ gvlapina@wisc.edu
Tomislav Longinovic Slavic Languages and Literature tlongino@wisc.edu
Gary Rosenshield Slavic Languages and Literature grosen@slavic.wisc.edu
Uli Schamiloglu Central Asian Languages and Cultures uschamil@wisc.edu
John Witte Lafollette School of Public Affairs witte@lafollette.wisc.edu
André Wink Department of History awink@wisc.edu