University of Wisconsin–Madison

Faculty

CREECA faculty and academic staff at the University of Wisconsin-Madison:

  • Have a primary research and/or teaching interest in Russia, Eastern and Central Europe, and/or Central Eurasia
  • Serve as MA thesis advisors for one or more REECAS MA degree students
  • Teach a course that fulfills one or more requirements for REECAS certificate and/or major programs
  • Participate in regular service requirements for CREECA (Administrative Council, FLAS selection committee, MA selection committee)
  • Participate in CREECA outreach/public service activities
  • CREECA faculty are eligible to stand for election to the CREECA Administrative council

Faculty & Academic Staff

Maria Belodubrovskaya

Assistant Professor of Communication Arts

mbelodubrovs@wisc.edu

Rachel Brenner

Professor of Jewish Studies

brenner@wisc.edu

Kathryn Ciancia

Assistant Professor of History

ciancia@wisc.edu

Thomas Dale

Professor of Art History

tedale@wisc.edu

David Danaher

Professor of Slavic Languages and Literature

dsdanaher@wisc.edu

Paul Dower

Assistant Professor of Agricultural and Applied Economics

pdower@wisc.edu

Tom DuBois

Professor of Scandinavian Studies

tadubois@wisc.edu

Karen Evans-Romaine

Professor of Slavic Languages and Literature

evansromaine@wisc.edu

Halina Filipowicz

Professor of Slavic Languages and Literature

hfilipow@wisc.edu

Scott Gehlbach

Professor of Political Science

gehlbach@polisci.wisc.edu

Ted Gerber

CREECA Director, Professor of Sociology

tgerber@ssc.wisc.edu

608-262-5033

Victor Gorodinsky

Sr. Academic Librarian & Director of Russian Folk Orchestra

vgorodinsky@library.wisc.edu

Maksim Hanukai

Visiting Assistant Professor of Slavic

hanukai@wisc.edu

Kathryn Hendley

Professor of Law and Political Science

khendley@wisc.edu

Yoshiko Herrera

Professor of Political Science

yherrera@wisc.edu

Philip Hollander

Assistant Professor of Jewish Studies

phollander@wisc.edu

Mark Johnson

Senior Lecturer in Educational Policy Studies

msjohnson9@wisc.edu

Robert Kaiser

Professor of Geography

rjkaise1@wisc.edu

Sergey Karpukhin

Lecturer in German, Nordic, Slavic

karpukhin@wisc.edu

Judd Kinzley

Assistant Professor of History

kinzley@wisc.edu

Andrew Kydd

Professor of Political Science

kydd@wisc.edu

Christopher Livanos

Associate Professor of Comparative Literature and Folklore

clivanos@wisc.edu

Tomislav Longinovic

Professor of Slavic Languages and Literature

tlongino@wisc.edu

Ewa Miernowska

Senior Lecturer in Slavic Languages and Literature

miernows@wisc.edu

Volker Radeloff

Professor of Forest & Wildlife Ecology

radeloff@wisc.edu

Sunil Rao

Senior Academic Librarian, Law Library

strao@wisc.edu

Gulnara Seipuldinova-Glowacki

Senior Lecturer in German, Nordic, Slavic

gglowacki@wisc.edu

Irina Shevelenko

Professor of Slavic Languages and Literature

idshevelenko@wisc.edu

Andy Spencer

Academic Librarian, General Library, Slavic Studies

andy.spencer@wisc.edu

Jennifer Tishler

Associate Director of CREECA

jtishler@creeca.wisc.edu

608-262-3379

Anna Tumarkin

Faculty Associate of Slavic Languages and Literature

atumarki@wisc.edu

Manon van de Water

Professor of Slavic Languages and Literature

mvandewa@wisc.edu

Andre Wink

Professor of History

awink@wisc.edu

Sunny Yudkoff

Assistant Professor of Jewish Studies

yudkoff@wisc.edu

Marina Zilbergerts

Assistant Professor of German, Nordic, Slavic

zilbergerts@wisc.edu

All CREECA faculty and academic staff and CREECA associates are eligible to apply for CREECA conference travel awards.

A UW-Madison faculty or staff member who wishes to join the center as a CREECA faculty and academic staff member or CREECA associate should submit a letter stating the nature of her/his interest and a current curriculum vitae to the CREECA associate director, Jennifer Tishler. Requests will be considered by the CREECA Administrative Council.

CREECA Faculty Emeriti

Name Department Email
Raymond Anderson Journalism rhanders@wisc.edu
Sarah Atis Languages and Cultures of Asia sgatis@wisc.edu
James Bailey Slavic Languages and Literature jobailey@wisc.edu
David Bethea Slavic Languages and Literature dmbethea@wisc.edu
Marianne Bloch Curriculum & Instruction, Women’s Studies bloch@education.wisc.edu
Dean Bowles Education Leadership and Policy Analysis bowles@education.wisc.edu
Barbara Buenger Art History bbuenger@wisc.edu
Melvin Croan Political Science croan@polisci.wisc.edu
Alexander Dolinin German, Nordic, Slavic dolinin@wisc.edu
John Doyle Department of Surgery doyle@surgery.wisc.edu
Joseph Elder Sociology elder@ssc.wisc.edu
Edgar Feige Economics elfeige@wisc.edu
Kemal Karpat History khkarpat@wisc.edu
Vance I. Kepley Communication Arts vikepley@wisc.edu
Anatoly Khazanov Anthropology khazanov@wisc.edu
Judith Kornblatt Slavic Languages and Literature jkornbla@wisc.edu
Galina Lapina German, Nordic, Slavic gvlapina@wisc.edu
Harlan Marquess Slavic Languages and Literature hemarque@wisc.edu
David Morgan History domorgan@wisc.edu
Gary Rosenshield Slavic Languages and Literature grosen@slavic.wisc.edu
Uli Schamiloglu Central Asian Languages and Cultures uschamil@wisc.edu
John Witte Lafollette School of Public Affairs witte@lafollette.wisc.edu